Undergraduate Catalog 2005- 2006

Honoraries and Honor Societies

Alpha Epsilon Delta is an international premedical honor society that recognizes scholastic achievement in preprofessional studies, including medicine, podiatry, dentistry, optometry, and veterinary medicine.

Alpha Kappa Delta promotes academic excellence among majors in the field of sociology. Membership is open to both undergraduate and graduate students in the discipline.

Alpha Sigma Lambda is an honorary academic society that recognizes the academic achievement of University at Buffalo nontraditional evening students.

Beta Alpha Psi is a national honor society that promotes academic excellence in the study of accounting and enhances the academic, professional, and social development of its members.

Beta Gamma Sigma is a national honor society that recognizes outstanding academic performance by graduating students in the fields of business and management.

Chi Epsilon is a national honorary society dedicated to maintaining and promoting civil engineering as a profession.

Delta Sigma Pi is a professional fraternity organized to foster the study of business in universities; to encourage scholarship, social activity, and the association of students for their mutual advancement by research and practice; to promote closer affiliation between the commercial world and students of commerce; and to further a higher standard of commercial ethics and culture and the civic and commercial welfare of the community.

Eta Kappa Nu is a national electrical engineering honor society that promotes academic excellence; fosters a spirit of liberal arts culture in engineering colleges; and honors students who have distinguished themselves through their scholarship, leadership, and exemplary character.

Gamma Sigma Alpha is the national Greek honor society that promotes the advancement of education among fraternity and sorority members. Students are eligible for membership based on (a) active membership in a fraternity or sorority recognized at UB, and (b) their scholastic achievement. Students must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above at the start of the junior year.

Golden Key is an international honor society that recognizes and encourages scholastic achievement and excellence among upper-division students in all fields of study.

Kappa Psi is a professional society that advances the profession of pharmacy at the education level and brings together students who are interested in the pharmacy profession.

Lambda Kappa Sigma is a professional society that promotes the ideals of women in pharmacy through social interaction and educational events.

Mortar Board is the senior leadership honor society, with selection criteria based on evidence of distinguished leadership, scholarship, and service to the university. Members apply and are chosen at the end of their junior year.

Omega Rho is a national honor society that recognizes persons of superior achievement in the field of operations research.

Omicron Delta Epsilon is an international honor society that recognizes scholastic attainment and honors outstanding achievements in economics.

Order of Omega is a leadership honor society for junior and senior fraternity and sorority members who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in inter-Greek activities on campus. Qualifications for membership also include scholarship, character, and service.

Phi Alpha Theta is a national honor society that promotes the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication, and the exchange of learning and thought among historians, students, and teachers.

Phi Beta Kappa is a national honor society that recognizes superior academic achievement in undergraduate work in the liberal arts and sciences.

Phi Eta Sigma is a national honor society that recognizes outstanding academic achievement in the freshman year.

Phi Lambda Upsilon promotes high scholarship and original investigation in all branches of pure and applied chemistry. Undergraduate students with senior standing who have completed at least 30 credits of chemistry or applied chemistry and rank in the top 20 percent of the class or have a minimum GPA of 3.5 (out of 4.0) are eligible. Nomination is through the Department of Chemistry.

Phi Sigma Iota recognizes outstanding ability and high standards of students and faculty of foreign languages, literatures, and cultures (including classics, linguistics, philology, comparative literature, ESL, bilingual education, and second language acquisition). It is the highest academic honor in the field of foreign languages.

Pi Kappa Lambda is a national honor society that recognizes and encourages the highest level of musical achievement and academic scholarship among upper-level undergraduate students and graduate students of music.

Pi Sigma Alpha recognizes and promotes outstanding academic achievement by undergraduates. Juniors or seniors with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.4 in their political science courses (at least 12 credit hours and one 300/400-level course) are eligible for membership. For information, contact the Department of Political Science at (716) 645-2251.

Pi Sigma Epsilon is a national professional sales and marketing society that promotes academic excellence and encourages leadership development and professional growth among its members. Membership is open to undergraduate and graduate students from all disciplines.

Pi Tau Sigma is an academic honor society that fosters the high ideals of the engineering profession and develops in students of mechanical engineering the attributes necessary for effective leadership and the assumption of the responsibilities of citizenship in a democracy.

Pi Theta Epsilon is a national honor society that recognizes outstanding academic achievement among graduating seniors and promotes continued professional development in the field of occupational therapy.

Psi Chi is a national psychology honor society founded to encourage and recognize superior academic achievement among those students who major or minor in psychology.

Rho Chi is a national honorary pharmaceutical society that promotes the advancement of the pharmaceutical sciences and the profession of pharmacy.

Sigma Delta Pi recognizes excellence in Spanish. Requirements include three years of college Spanish, with at least one upper-division course in Spanish literature or Hispanic culture, and a minimum GPA of 3.0. To be eligible, a student must be at least a second-semester sophomore and have a minimum overall GPA of 2.75. For information, contact the Department of Romance Languages and Literatures at (716) 645-2191.

Sigma Gamma Tau is a national honor and professional society that recognizes and honors those individuals in the field of aeronautics and astronautics who, through scholarship, integrity, and outstanding achievement, have been a credit to their professions.

Sigma Theta Tau is a national honor society that recognizes superior scholastic achievement and leadership qualities in the nursing profession.

Tau Beta Pi is an honor society that pays tribute to those who have conferred honor upon their alma mater by distinguished scholarship and exemplary character.

Tau Sigma is a national honor society that recognizes academic excellence and involvement of students following their first semester after transferring into the university.

For further information on eligibility and/or to obtain the name of the contact person for any of the aforementioned societies, please consult the brochure Honorary and Professional Organizations, State University of New York at Buffalo, available from the Division of Student Affairs, Leadership Development Center, University at Buffalo, 235 Student Union, Buffalo, NY 14260-2100, (716) 645-6469.